Advent Tree: Completed Tree – First day of Advent

IMGP0201

 

Since today is December 1st, I am leading off this post with our first ornament on the tree – the first one I made over two weeks ago. It is perfect in its spot at the top of the tree, right by the Christmas star.

First of all, I had two 1 yard pieces of felt, one in dark green and the other in hunter green. I placed and cut out the pieces with a pair of smaller fiskars – one of my daughter’s school scissors was perfect for that!

IMGP0145

 

All cut out!! I think it looks pretty – but I may be biased! Yes, it’s still a triangle, but I think the bounces help break it up a bit.

IMGP0148

 

I decided to sew the pieces together with a simple running stitch. Worked out quite well!!

IMGP0189

 

I added a Christmas star, the pattern for which can be found here: Printable Star Pattern and for a while I decided that it was done.

IMGP0191

But after sitting and contemplating it for a while. I decided that it needed some further decorations, so I added some of the craft ribbons I found at Target in the dollar section. I adhered the ribbon on with craft glue dots. The white dots you can see all over are  velcro dots – their mates are now stuck to the back on the ornaments.

IMGP0198

 

Here it is, mostly complete. I am still working on the ornaments as we speak. I have a Peppa Pig ornament and a Sheep ornament in the works, and I hope to have them completed by tomorrow afternoon. I also raised the Advent tree up about 1/2 a metre, as my youngest two were overly obsessed with pulling things off. Which is not too much of a worry, but it would be nice if they don’t destroy it within hours of it being put up 😉

 

About anasilanishtar

Busy mother of five daughters, I baked and craft as a way to relax. I enjoy crochet, bread baking, cookie baking and anything to do with re-purposing oreos.

Posted on December 1, 2013, in sewing - holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

